What a Sewing Weekend!

Love to receive comments…let me know your thoughts… *s*.. 

Beatrice In the Works

 This is Beatrice.  She was started some time ago but put aside for other crafts.  Now Beatrice is waiting patiently for blonde hair, new clothes and Madeline to give her loves.  I’m ready to finish her wishes.

This weekend…..

I was home on my own which isn’t an entirely nice thing but it was a perfectly productive sewing weekend for a change.  Nobody at home..nobody dropped by…just the perfect do what you want weekend.   

    Cool Cats Tote   Nifty Nurse Tote   Dog Basket Tote

All total I made 7 tote bags.   I made 3 with the Nifty Nurses fabric I had used previously to make pouches, 2 with the Cool Cats and 2 with the Dogs in Baskets.    I had quite the production line going.   Seven started with the number of each colour I decided I would cut out, and then the production began.  Cut…cut…cut..cut..etc… sew sides…sew sides..sew sides etc. …sew lining x 7…cut and sew handles.. x 7 etc.  and I was determined not to stop until they were done…except for a trip to Fabricland for more black thread (fortunately…. or not?? they are 3 minutes down the road).

 Denim Embroidered Bag

But first Friday night started with 2 great bags with zippers.   I loved the look of the blue denim with embroidery fabric I purchased on Friday night.  The lining is a great, pink paisley material.  I was very pleased with it.  Then I made the smaller corduroy purse however, I have to admit I still have the handles to put on.  I was so enthusiastic about starting the totes on Saturday that I decided to cheat and not finish.

THEN…because I loved the blue denim I had all kinds of ideas of what to do with it…so…I started out by making Madeline a vest with it on Sunday morning.  It was so fun figuring out the placement of the embroidery which I had decided I was not going to use on the whole vest.  I cut some of it out of the fabric and zig-zagged it on the back.  Then I made a little skirt using the pink paisley as a border on the bottom of the skirt.  I used the same paisly to line the vest.  I couldn’t stop until I had made a little zipper bag onto which I had zig-zagged an embroidered dragonfly and star cut from the material.  I attached a single strap.   Its adorable.  

  Madeline’s Vest & Bag   Madeline’s 3 piece Denim Set

Backtracking again to Thursday night while shopping for some yarn to crochet a poncho for Madeline, I happened upon a great bargain on 2 little tops for her.  I chose the colours that would go with the poncho, well it happens that one of them will go perfect with the vest and skirt outfit.  I’m so excited to get a picture of it and to dress her up.  I sure hope its her size.  I did call Robyn to ask her for Madeline’s waist size and length from waist to knee.  Such little figures for a 3 year old. When I am able to take pics I’ll write more about the poncho…. the colour is called Rustic Rouge and it is making an incredibly nice pattern as the colours change….but….mmmmmm dinner’s ready.  Pork chops and new potatoes under cover in the oven with cream of mushroom soup to cover…mixed veggies are boiling on the stove…see you next time!

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “What a Sewing Weekend!

  1. Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com

  2. Thank you for that nice comment. Perhaps one time your wife will stop by as well. I am thoroughly enjoying sewing again and will definately check out your site!

Leave a Reply

