Silk Fusion and Silk Dyeing

Silk Fusion MaskLast night I joined some ladies and learned about working with silk fibres and dyeing silk.  We had such a nice time working on projects.  I made a mask by fusing wonderfully coloured silk fibres that were a bricky red, to orangey red to raspberry pink.  Its a very interesting process.  I hated leaving it there to dry but I’ll be able to embellish it at the beginning of the week.   I’ll probably embellish it with feathers and beads.  My next project was dyeing a rectangular silk scarf.   I discovered it takes a certain technique as you don’t have total control of the paints that reach out to do their own thing.  Once its all dry my colours of rusty brown, green, yellow and a golden colour will show the effects of the coarse salt I scattered over it while it began to dry.  I’ll share a picture once I get the projects home.  This is definately something I’ll explore more in the new year.  Yahooo…

This is the way it looks right now….My Silk Infused Mask Unbellished  Later I’ll embellish it with beads and feathers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Made by Me

Leave a Reply

