Busy Time of Year…

I haven’t been here for a long time!  It has been a busy time of year and crafting hasn’t helped make it less so….  Santa brought me a Sony digital camera for Christmas so now I’ll be able to snap pictures again.  Love it!

Since my last post in November I was saddened to have to put Kelly my 20 year old kitty to sleep.  She developed a tumor in her jaw in the early fall and in December I had to make the decision.  She was a lovely little companion for me and the family.  We miss her a lot.     Pretty Kelly

Christmas came and went…..    Santa and Mr. Snowman

I made some gifts for Christmas …..and then sewed headbands and knit us ladies hats (my mom, me, Madeline, Robyn) as gifts for AFTER Christmas…

Handmade Headbands and Knitted HatsHandmade Knit Hat

and Eva, we’re modelling our new knit hats…

    This is the Pattern for the Knit Hat   Handknit Hat

Materials:  I ball of “Chunky Barnet soft”   (main colour) & 1 ball of  “Bowa”  -eyelash yarn (or similar) 1 Size 6 circular needles.   4 Size 6 double pointed needles.  Marker 

Note:  Knit using one strain of each. Cast on 60 sts.  Place a marker at the beginning.  Continue knitting in round as follows: K1 P1 ribbing until work from beginning measures 5 inches.  Last stitch ending at marker. Tie off bowa (eyelash) and work with remaining “Chunky” as follows: K all rows from marker until work from beginning measures 8 inches ( or desired length) Begin cast off as follows: Row 1:  K10, K2 tog , K 10, K2 tog,  -continue to marker.Row 2:  K rowRow 3:  K9 sts, K2 tog, K9, K2 tog,  -continue to marker.Row 4:  K row Continue in this way, decreasing by K1 until 5 stitches remaining.-change from circular needles to 4 double point needles as work gets smaller.-cast off and sew top.  Add optional pompom.

Handsewn Matching Accessories

New Coat and Handmade Headband and Tote Bag

Santa gave me a fur-like white coat and I made a furry type headband to match.  The head band is sitting on the coat at the left bottom.  I also made the purse and attached some of the furry material to it.  I think it turned out quite nice.   

Madeline’s Fleece Poncho 

Handmade Fleece Poncho for Madeline  I took a picture of the fleece poncho I made for Madeline.  It also has a matching hat.  Quick and easy and no sew!

I bought a nice new teapot….so I made a new tea cozy.  I loved the bright colours of the fabric.   New Handmade Tea Cozy

Leave a comment

Filed under Made by Me, Tutorials

Leave a Reply

