A New Earth – Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose

So, I am already reading  as I wrote a few days ago, a previous selection from Oprah’s Book Club, The Pillar’s of the Earth by Ken Follett.  I read mostly during my lunch hour at work.  I have just picked up her present Book Club selection by Eckhart Tolle, “A New Earth Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose”.  I had to. 

If you’ve been watching Oprah this last week, which I have been while on the treadmill at the gym, you would have heard Oprah talk about a first time ever web forum for readers of the book.  The forum will begin on Monday, March 3rd and Oprah and the author will be online to answer questions to help better understand the book and yourself.  The forum will continue for 10 weeks.   I wanted to read the book and sharing in this way sounded like the right time to do it for me. We’ll see where the time to focus on this book comes from. 

Is anyone else reading the book?  How do you find it?  Has anyone registered for the free forum?  Has anyone read any of her other book club selections?

This has been a very spiritual, interesting book as I continue reading it nightly.  The author writes about our ego and the dysfunction it creates that leads to anger, jealousy and unhappiness.  It is an eye opener as I relate it to what I think and observe about myself and life around me.  This begins with my immediate circle of family and friends stretching out to people we can only read about and stretching further throughout the world.  Readers have the opportunity to step aside within themselves and hopefully experience an awakening of life’s purpose.  An aha moment of sorts for lasting satisfaction of life. 

I may post on some of what I’ve read along the way.  If you are interested in readings you may find those in more recent bloggings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

