Birthday & Italian Dinner Prep and Great Shopping Deals

Just the 3 of us

I’m finishing this post at the top.  We had a nice birthday party for Son #2.  At the end of the day everything did taste good and we had laughs and I was so happy we were all together.  This is a picture of me, Madeline and the birthday boy.

So it was a very busy and productive Saturday.  One of those days that seems to go on and on and things get done!  Wednesday is Son #1’s birthday so we’re getting together at my place tomorrow for dinner.  I can’t imagine how involved this simple birthday has been today.  I was up early and went shopping to Oakridges Outfitters and bought 2 really nice shirts for him.  One is a button down shirt that has a neat texture and is a dressy casual look.  The other is a  really neat t-shirt.   I may treat him to a couple of car wash coupons as well.

 In the process, I decided I really needed to replace my coffee maker.  It doesn’t get very hot so it can’t possibly brew a full flavoured coffee.  At the mall I went to the Bay and checked them all over and over and compared and then I walked to Sears and did the same.  Then walked all the way back to the Bay again and did it all again.  The hotter 1100 watt coffee makers, the ones I wanted were more expsensive, naturally.  

Something made me walk a couple of aisles over and there I spotted some Kitchen Aid coffee makers amongst some other brands, that were on final clearance.   It was originally $140.00, reduced to $84.00 and now 40% off that for the weekend so it cost me about $54.00.  It was exactly what I wanted.  I have a picture of it below with the soup cups.  I made myself a cup of coffee as soon as I got home and it was so hot and yum!  What a good shopping day.

This is a picture of the thrifted turkey gravy boat I bought last weekend.  It sure will hold a lot of gravy!  Turkey Gravy Boat

Then I stopped to pick up groceries for tomorrow’s dinner.  The guys love my lasagne so I made a large one.  I add thawed chopped spinach into it and I use cottage cheese instead of ricotta.    Does anyone else put chopped spinach or another veggie in their meat lasagne?  I’d be interested to know.Birthday Dinner Lasagne   It smells great.  Tomorrow I’ll just heat it up.

Son #2 and his lady have just discovered that they really like shrimp so since we all like them I’m going to start the dinner with shrimp cocktails and baguettes toasted with garlic and served with brushetta.  Then we’ll have the soup (recipe below) and finally the lasagne.  Mom is bringing over a delicious salad.  For dessert we’re having brownies that the birthday boy can’t refuse and I’ll pile them on a plate with dusted icing sugar over them with candles  and cupaccino ice cream.  What a feast!  I can hardly wait!

 I want to serve the soup in a cup for tasters before the lasagne and found these perfect cup and saucers from the Bay today as well …. REDUCED again to less than a quarter of their price.   The soup will look great in them.  New Soup Cups & Coffee Pot  My new coffee maker is in the picture also.  The recipe follows.

Mediterranean   Mediterranean Vegetable Soup  Vegetable Soup

2 tbsp Olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 large carrot, sliced lengthwise and then sliced into small pieces.

2 stalks celery, sliced thin.

2 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced thin.

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups water

oregano and basil and pepper to taste

15 oz can of diced tomatoes, undrained

1 – 15 oz can of canelleni beans

1 cup wagon wheel pasta

Parmesan cheese to sprinkle into each bowl of soup.

Pour olive oil into a pot.  Add the sliced onions, carrots, celery and garlic and cook for about 10 minutes until softened.  Add chicken broth and water and allow to cook for about 20 minutes.  Add tomatoes and cookanother 15 minutes.  Add beans and cook about another 20 minutes.  Season with basil, pepper and oregano.   Finally add the wagon wheel pasta and cook until they are ready.  Ladle into cups/bowls and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.  

2 Comments

Filed under Its About Baking and Cooking

2 responses to “Birthday & Italian Dinner Prep and Great Shopping Deals

  1. Great post felt as if I was there with you. The recipes look great and what a run of luck with the coffee maker and mugs etc Hope you have a great time enjoying all your yummy food. Love the gravy boat.

  2. Yes it was one of those running around kinds of days we all get now and again that we can identify with. I love a good deal so I take time searching for them! :o)

Leave a Reply

