Its About a Busy Saturday……All Day

Funny how I…we can be with change.  When I first saw the new setup for WordPress I thought yuck!  Everything in the old setup seemed so well laid out and it worked so well.  Except that more recently something crazy happened with my computer and wordpress in the writing/editing mode where there was overlapping and posting became almost unbearable.  But, after using the new set up for a  post or two I forgot all about the initial issues I had with the new look and I’m trapsing through beautifully.  In the end I’m finding it so easy and user friendly.  Its great!  Anyone feel this way?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My Saturday….

I was up early today.  I was bound and determined to do some housework before I started to play.  I was up at 7:00 a.m. and its 5:00 and now I’m supposed to think about crafting?  whew…  Busy day.  I cleaned my windows, washed my livingroom/diningroom floors by hand, 2 loads of wash that included my scatter type rugs, sorted through magazines and rearranged them into different areas, baked cookies from Ultimate Cookie Book  , baked a lemon poppyseed loaf, washed the bathroom and kitchen….did some shopping.  And I have a roast chicken and veggies in the oven for dinner.  I had been falling behind a bit….  Let me know if you are interested in the lemon poppyseed loaf recipe.  It was simple and yum.

The cookies are very delicious! The cookie is a bit crisper, sort of and the chocolate is gooey yum.  The recipe called for 12 oz of chocolate chips.  I had assorted bittersweet chocolate chips, semi sweet chips and white chocolate squares and threw them all in with some skors bar toffee bits.  Do you find that when a recipe says you’ll end up with 36 cookies you end up with 22 or something?  I do.  Today the recipe said it would make 22 1/4 cup cookies.  I used a cookie scoop and made 4 dozen!  I wouldn’t make them any larger than the ones I did make.

Our Superintendent is wonderful and I wanted to share some baking with her.  Here is a mini poppy seed loaf and a tin of cookies I gave to her.

Saturday Baking

Deluxe  Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

1 cup margarine or butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

2-1/2 cups flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup chopped walnuts (I added some Skor toffie bits instead)

12 oz semi sweet or milk chocolate bits or chips

Heat oven to 375F.  Beat sugars and margarine for about 3 minutes until flluffy.  Beat in vanilla and eggs.   Stair in flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir in chocolate and nuts.

Drop dough by level 1/4 cupfuls (or cookie scoop) 2″ apart on ungreased cookie sheets.  Flatten slights with fork.  Bake 11-14 minutes or until edges are light brown.  The centers will be soft.  Cool 3-4 minutes, remove from cookie sheet.   I made 4 dozen – recipe says 22 cookies.

+++++++++++++++++++++

Apples Tea Cozy

Apples Tea Cozy

I made another yummy apple fabric tea cozy for  my shop .  I love the bright apples.  I love my tea cozy. 

+++++++++++++++++++++

Cairo Bracelet & Earrings

      

I just put my Cairo 3-strand bracelet and matching earrings into my shop PinkDaisies.  I really like the multicoloured, vibant, glass beads in its bronze, yellow, rose, greens with pink swarovski crystals.  Its so easy to wear with its brilliant irridescent colours.      I REALLY love bracelets these days.  I think I’m addicted to them if one can be that.  What about you?

2 Comments

Filed under Made by Me, Recipes, Sewing

2 responses to “Its About a Busy Saturday……All Day

  1. I am okay as I have my son to cry to if need be but I have actually had no problems. Glad the birthday went well and the photo is gorgeous Judi, you all look really happy and loved.

  2. Thank you Kathleen. We did have a happy day.

Leave a Reply

