Cake to Celebrate

My Spring Cake

The past 2 weeks at work have been very hectic for everyone.  Tomorrow is the last day of exams and we’ll all feel some relief, of course in a different way that the students.  I decided to bake a cake to take into work for our office.  A fresh fruit cake.

It is a simple cake to make in that it only has 3 ingredients for the actual cake…well 4 if you count the 2tsp of baking powder.  I round up these 3 identical glasses.  The number of eggs I crack into the first glass determines the size of the cake (this one had 7)!!  The other 2 ingredients are measured one into each remaining glass to the same height as the eggs are in their glass.     Measuring Cake Ingredients

Once the cake has baked and cooled I slice it in the middle and moisten it with a mixture of water, rum and sugar.  I arrange cut strawberries and whip cream in the middle, and strawberries, grapes, kiwi fruit and whip cream on the outside.  Finally I spread almost “ready” jello  over top.  The cake is best when made the day before so the flavours of the moistening take effect.  I made a little white chocolate “Spring” sign.  I’d love to share with you. 

This  is what happens sooo often when I pick up this

sugar canister I received in the 70s.  The top does not turn on properly most of the time.  I should be getting used to either picking the cannister up more carefully or getting used to stopping to sweep up sugar from the floor.

1 Comment

Filed under Its About Baking and Cooking

One response to “Cake to Celebrate

  1. Barbara

    Judi,

    What a great blog. I wish I’d been at school when
    that cake came in, then again it was a eat too
    much winter, so it’s time for me to look and
    not eat.

    Barbara

Leave a Reply

