Babe and Friends at the Cottage

  

I hope you had a really good weekend.   

                       I was so surprised to see how much bigger the flowers in the wheelbarrow at the cottage looked this weekend.  It had only been a week since I’d planted them.  I put in a Welcome sign.

We had a busy weekend.  Marc’s mom “babe” who is such a lovely lady and so sharp and 93 years old came to the cottage with Marc’s brother and wife.  It was a 2-1/2 hour drive for her.   We had a total of 18 get together especially to visit with her.  She was so happy to see her great grandson Jack again, to see everyone again.        Marc grilled a couple of pork butts on the grill for about 6 hours and we served pulled pork on buns.  It was sooo Yum!

     

 I made  Kathy Mousher’s Delicious Baked Beans * (recipe below)     Kathy Mousher is a friend in the family’s mother-in-law.    This picture shows them before they went in the oven.  When they came out of the oven they had a much better done and yummy look.

 Janet, the Queen of desserts, again put together 2 different, fantastic looking and tasting desserts, 

 Mocha Layer Cake   

and Flat Bottom Fruit Pie  

      both from the Kraft Kitchen site.  I don’t know which one I preferred better, they were both absolutely worth testing again!   We all had such a good visit and Babe said those were the best 3 days of her life.  That put a smile on everyone’s faces.

I live in Canada during the week, the weekends in the summer are spent in New York State at Marc’s cottage, his home.  (In the winter this plan reverses)  So a few years ago I was so excited to find this wonderful American type fabric in Canada that I made into 2 patriotic pillows for the cottage.  I took pictures to share with you. 

     Doesn’t it look like one pillow is “red” and the other “blue”?  When in fact they are made from the same fabric but one has a red cording and the other a blue cording.  It amazes me how the cording pulls the coordinating colour from each pillow. 

It even looks that way when you flip one over to show the backside which with the red cording again looks like its more red….             until you reverse the pillows again    It is NOT taking much to amuse me here. *lol*

The neighbours have this cozy little spot behind their cottage.    

It invites you to sit, or read, or visit with a friends, and sip lemonade

                           

  and listen to the birds, or admire the flowers.

                             

                  This little bird’s nest is empty this year, except for these dried leaves.  It was sitting in the flower flower box from last year.    It sits where it was deserted last spring after a racoon pushed it out of the box.  You can see it in the corner in the picture below.  I should put some little decorative blue eggs into it….

The flowers in the window box on the shed we planted last weekend are looking stronger this weekend too

Tonight I worked on the engagment quilt I started a couple of weeks ago, that I should have given a couple of weeks ago at the engagement party, but it wasn’t finished.       

Tomorrow I hope to pick up some fabric for the back and then I can start quilting it.

Kathy Mousher’s Delicous Baked Beans

3/4 lb ground beef

1/2 lb. diced bacon

1 cup onion diced

1 28 oz can Pork and Beans

15 oz can Pinto beans (drained and rinsed)

15 oz can Lima beans (drained and rinsed)

15 oz can Navy beans (drained and rinsed)

1/2 cup bbq sauce

1/2 cup ketchup

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tbsp prepared mustard

2 tbsp molasses

1-1/2 tsp. chili powder

Fry the bacon until starting to brown, add onions and ground beef and cook until ground beef is cooked.  Drain.  Add all the beans and mix very well.  In separate bowl combine the rest of the ingredients and then add them to the beef and bean mixture.   Cover and bake for 45 minutes.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Babe and Friends at the Cottage

  1. wow–what a post! lots of great pictures to admire….all those yummy foods (especially the desserts)–I can almost taste them!

    I wish i was a little better with cording…..looks so sloppy! I haven’t used it in awhile, but I agree, it makes a project looks “finished”…

    cute quilt, too!!

  2. Sherry, does the cording you use have the little flat piece of fabric that you sew in? I have only worked with cording sporatically and I find once you pin that on nicely it just comes out alright! It might be the way you hold your mouth when you do it..*lol*. We had a very special weekend.

  3. Shelly – sorry…I had a slip of the finger and wrote Sherry.

  4. Hi Judi did we see the flowers before or was it just the wheelbarrow cause I felt like the flowers were bigger too! That is interesting about the cottage and how you spend your time there, maybe one day you will share how you guys met?

    His mum looks gorgeous and those desserts…..it looks like you were at a high class restaurant! All the photos were lovely…..next door does look cosy and inviting. I have never used piping or cording as you call it over there!

  5. Kathleen, yes I had planted the flowers the previous weekend on July 4th and maybe you saw the pic in the July 4th Celebration post. I’m glad I did so I can compare. They looked fuller and happier the following weekend I was pleased. Yes perhaps one day I’ll post about Marc and I.
    In the province of Ontario where I live “everyone” heads north to their cottages on Friday nights. The traffic can get heavy! I live about 1 hour north of Toronto and my mom’s cottage is about 2-1/2 hours north of me also. So its nice that Marc has a cottage also although not “north” and its a lovely place to spend the weekend. The lake is large and its so pleasant looking at the sailboats and other boats going by. Do you enjoy the country, do you live in a larger city or a smaller town?

  6. Sydney is pretty large….its certainly busy. I grew up in the country but the country here is quite a long way from everything….you need a car, there is little public transport and distances are so vast. So one hour north… is that a considered a suburb or country?

  7. Around Toronto there are suburbs. I am north of the suburbs and live in a “town” of approximately 50,000 people and there are other surrounding towns around me. We have a number or lakes and forests close to me and nice areas to drive country roads. I like that.

Leave a Reply

