Monday After First Vacation Weekend

I had a really nice long weekend stateside.  We had a delicious fish fry dinner at the Village Inn on Friday night.    That area just loves their Friday fish fries.  You see signs up everywhere for them.   Actually though we had the baked fish with almonds on top and it is sooooo good.  Just perfect after a 3-hour drive.

Saturday turned out to be quite a nice day, after the rain stopped before the golf game.  While Marc golfed I went galavanting and found some wonderful vintage cross stitch and needlepoint kits.   I was so pleased with them.    I’m going to put them on etsy sometime this week.   Here are just 2 of them.  

Sunday it rained most of the day.  The hummingbirds were really acting up and actually we were quite entertained while we ate breakfast.  I filled their feeder on Friday night and on Sunday morning it was almost all gone!  It usually takes about a week for it to empty.  They were as good as squaking and chasing each other around       …they were buzzing around like honeybees.     Whenever one of them would sit on the perch for  a minute they didn’t even eat they were toooo busy being on the lookout ready to continue the chase.  I make more nectar and thought they might be behaving silly enough to sit on the perch while I held it up  

  They weren’t though.  I got tired of standing there and imagined them sitting on nearby branches shaking their heads at me.

After painting the Salon Cuts Teddy Bear chair a couple of weeks ago, I decided I would paint a birdhouse.  Some years ago I painted a number of them as gifts.  I attached a chair railing to the bottom and friends still have them in their garden or sitting in their kitchen.  This is what it looks like today   I hope to paint it during my vacation and I’ll share the picture with you.   I am only on Day 3 of 21 days so I should have some time. 

Tomorrow Son #2 and family and mom and I are going to her cottage which is 2-1/2 hours north of me.  They are predicting some iffy kind of weather but hopefully it’ll be warm and we’ll swim and won’t mind a little wet.  I made some goodies to take with us.  Grace made them a couple of weeks ago when we were at Marcs.  She gave me the recipe but I forgot to ask what they are called.  I’m callng them Grace’s Nutty Bars.  They are soooo yummy.   This is my favourite tin.  Although its a bit Christmassy    I’m using it to bring the Nutty Bars I made with Grace’s recipe to the cottage.   I’ve left you the recipe below.  Try them you will LOVE them I’m sure.  If you try them let me know what YOU think.  If you’ve made them before leave me a comment with their proper name.

Grace’s Nutty Bars

1 stick margarine

1 cup white sugar

1 tbsp vanilla

Club crackers about 1 sleeve.

Chopped almonds and/or hazelnuts.  I used both.   Chop them up into small pieces.

Line a cookie sheet with foil paper and arrange crackers on it.   It will take 2 cookie sheets.

Melt the butter in a small saucepan and add sugar.  Cook for 2 minutes stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and add vanilla.  Use a tablespoon to spoon the mixture all over each cracker.  Scatter the nuts over the crackers.  Bake at 350F for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and immediately place on cookie sheets to cool.   You’ll need to remove them right away or they’ll get stuck on the foil.  After cooling place in an airtight tin separating the layers with wax paper. 

Have a great sweet week!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Monday After First Vacation Weekend

  1. It sounds like you had a great weekend! The cross-stitch patterns are so pretty and how wonderful to have so many hummingbirds visit your yard!
    ~Kelli

  2. Me again! I used regular cotton fabric for the bag. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    ~Kelli

  3. Hi, I like your story about the hummingbirds. How fun to watch!

    You left a comment on my blog – Treasures From Home – and asked about a black and gold frame with a lady’s head. It is actually more like a plaque, and the lady’s head is mounted in the center of it. The whole thing is made of plaster, so it is pretty heavy. I don’t know how old it is. I bought it at a Salvation Army thrift store for about $5.

    I will check back on your blog to see your favorites post. I would like to see pictures of your ladies, too. Thanks for the visit.
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

