Treasures…Cirque Capriccio…Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra

After coming home from the cottage up north on Thursday, I had just enough time to unpack, do laundry and pack up again to make my drive to Marc’s cottage the following day.   This morning  (Monday) I made the 3 hour drive back home and wanted to share some pictures with you.

On the way to Marc’s I stopped at a couple of garage sales and found some treasures.  I bought these framed ladies  which I’ve hung up in my bedroom.    They were $5.00 for the pair.  Here is a close up of one of them.  They are in really good condition.  The lady I bought them from said she has had them in the attic for 50 years and prior to that they belonged to her  mother-in-law.  So they are pretty old.  That remark just made me laugh.  I’m glad they’re considered old and hope I’m not! She didn’t know anything else about them.  Do you?

I bought a couple of great crafting books.  They were $5.00 for both of them.  There were soooo many craft supplies there.   but I didn’t have very much US money with me…I’d already stopped at a couple of other places…and they didn’t take a credit card, go figure.    I’m going to have fun with these books because there are some really great crafting ideas in them.   

I also found a vintage pin cushion lady.   She has lovely porcelain hands and face.  I don’t know how old she is.    I paid only $1.00 for her.

At another sale I  bought a box of Pfaltzgraff dishes.      There are 2 sizes of dinner plates, 4 of each size and 4 sandwich plates and a bowl and there is also a tealight holder and the whole deal was $3.00.     My son bought me the cup a few years ago and I really liked the pattern.  Now I can eat cereal out of the matching bowl. 

I also bought this insulated carafe because I liked its shape.   It was a bargain at $1.00.  I made some ice tea and its keeping cold in it.       I have a set of these  glasses for lemonade or iced tea I picked up a few years ago for free actually . 

I also bought 3 A-1 condition amazing trucks and numbers toy made by FisherPrice, LeapFrog and Preschool for Jack.  They all made some sort of sounds or sang songs were only $1.00-$2.00 each.  For Madeline I found a  box of 4 puzzles of which 3 are still in their individual bags, and 2 sets of little miniature dolls with all all their clothes and accessories.  I bought an Osh Gosh denin jumper for her that is brand new.  I may try my hand at embellishing it with fabric and beads.  We shall see.  :o)   I’ve posted the lovely dress Shelley  embellished for her daughter again if you didn’t see it before.  

On Sunday we drove to Lewiston which is close to the US/Canada border.  Its a really cute, quaint touristy town   with some bautiful homes,            inviting shops   and crafts and nice places to eat.  I’m going to have to go back there and check them out and see what kind of treasures I can find.

We went to the Artpark to watch the Cirque Capriccio while listening to the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra.  We had great seats and the music was beautiful while the performers consisting of husband and wife, and 2 other ladies, swung and performed high above.    We were surprised to learn the performers were from Vancouver, British Columbia considering I am Canadian too!   They did all kinds of other balancing acts on the stage.  They were great!  W e couldn’t take pictures but during the intermission I took a picture from the back which is up high.   We had seats and a roof but way up behind us people were also seated on the grass.         It was interesting to learn the husband and wife had performed with the Cirque de Soleil at one time.  They had taught some of their friends so they could practise with them.  Some of the friends over time had become so good and had expressed an interest to perform as well, and that was the start of Cirque Capriccio.  It was a lovely afternoon.

That was the end of my first week of vacation.  This week I’m home for a few days to catch up…cleaning…pictures…laundry…crafts….reading….SETTLING DOWN…before I head back at the end of the week.  Two more weeks to go!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Treasures…Cirque Capriccio…Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra

  1. wow! looks like you had a great time and found some great buys…..i love the vintage goodies! Its always fun to be on vacation but then it’s kind of fun to be bcak home too (MINUS the catch up cleaning!!)!!!

  2. I love the ladies you found!!! They are beautiful! And all the rest of your finds. I will be back soon to read more of your blog. Thanks for your visit and comments.

    Shannon
    Treasures From Home

  3. Now, I would say you had a marvelous weekend! Love all your treasures. Those white ladies are gorgeous. I’ve never seen anything like that before! And that pin cushion – it’s beautiful! Thanks for popping in to see my silly fish jugs!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  4. I love the pictures of the old homes. What a fun weekend and fabulous finds.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. It was nice of you to stop in for a visit. 🙂

  5. Afternoon, Judy. No, I didn’t buy any of those things! Iwas such a good girl and only bought a bag of tea – I don’t know what was wrong with me! lol thanks for coming to see me.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  6. Hi Judy! Oh, I’m jumping up and down for you finding a fish jug! How wonderful! Oh, I’m so honored you would want to show some of my pictures…you show all you want to… as I said, I’m honored! Make sure you come tell me when you post about your fish jug. I won’t ask any questions about it – I’ll wait and be surprised. Maybe yours was prettier than mine was! lol
    Oh, I’m going to put you in my Sweeties List!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  7. Peter Boulanger

    Hi Judy!

    Thanks for saying such wonderful things about us. We had a lot of fun, the conductor, Paul, was great to work with, as was all the Philharmonic crew. And the response from the audience was wonderful.

    Peter Boulanger
    Cirque Capriccio
    The UndergroundCircus.

Leave a Reply

