Thrifting en Route to Grocery Shopping

Jack is bringing his mommy and daddy over for dinner tonight.  The love bunny always has dinner with his daughter and her family on Thursdays.  Tonight because I am here on vacation they are going to come here and we can visit.

  On the way to grocery shop I  passed these little duckies that have been drinking from a roadside puddle this whole week.  Love that poofy hairdo!

I stopped in to a thrift shop I’ve discovered a couple of weeks ago just to have a little look…and I had a little buy too.  They were having a summer clearance so I found this lovely plate.  I am thinking it might be part of a snack set.   There is a perfect little spot on it for a tealight candle.     I’m not sure what this piece of china is?  It would make a nice candy dish, or for cranberry sauce or flowers.  Maybe it was a sugar bowl? 

    I love this type of glass.  The lid fits on snugly with the zig zag cut of the glass.  A pretty candy dish, or jewellery dish…

     This little pottery has little round spicey scented balls in it.  The fragrance is lovely and comes through the little holes in the dish.  Into the kitchen it goes.   

This lovely dish caught my eye and  and turning it over I read the familiar make, Arabia which is made in Finland.  My background is Finnish so it came home with me.      

 I think this candle holder looks pretty on the love bunny’s table.  You can see my flower wheelbarrow in the background. 

I guess those were all deals I could NOT live without so its a good thing I stopped on my way.  Nothing was only $2.00 so I think I did pretty good!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Thrifting en Route to Grocery Shopping

  1. I think that indentation might be made for a small bowl that would hold dip to sit.

  2. You sure did well…we rarely have anything under $5 for what the sort of things you bought. I like to use mine in my photoshoots so am always on the lookout for china and pottery.

  3. Wow–you should go to the grocery store more often! ;o)

  4. Good morning ~ and what treasures you found. I especially love the little sugar bowl looking dish! It’s just precious. Doesn’t it make you feel so wonderful finding beautiful things? Thank you so much for stopping by my tea party and the sweet comments.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  5. You did great. Wish I could say I only spent $2..00 on any of mine.

  6. Hi, thank you for stopping by my tea party today! What grand finds! I especially love the plate with the teacup spot and the darling ducks!

    Kindredly, Lynne Laura

  7. Jan

    Great thrifting finds!!!

    Thanks for coming for tea today…see you in September!!! (or before)

    ~Blessings,
    Jan

  8. Great shopping! Thanks for visiting my tea party today!

    ~Susan

  9. Hi Judi! I’m so excited, go back and look at my 3rd plate – I’ve just realized it matches your sugar bowl dish you have!! I only have 2 plates of these and have always thought the pattern was so beautiful! It’s this fun?
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

Leave a Reply

