Quick Sausage and Sauce over Fresh Linguine Pasta

  This is my donkey’s tail.  I planted 6 short tails last spring and this is how pretty mama’s little donkey is just a year later.   Its a fun plant to grow because when it drops any of its little pieces, I just drop them back into the soil.  These begin growing in no time.  I’ve learned the amount of water it requires to keep it from thinking its time to multiply.

When I got back yesterday after being away 10 days I watered all my plant babies (although my son had been by to water them).  I think my donkey’s tail wanted to reach up and hug me.   I’ve never seen it look like this.  Normally it hangs.  I guess it just missed me.

After a day back to work I wanted something relatively easy but yummy for dinner.    Do you use the Hillshire Farms Kielbassa or Sausage?  I can’t buy them here but buy them when I’m in the states and keep some in my freezer.  I used the Turkey Kielbassa this time.  The fat content is lower than usual sausage and its so tasty.     I sliced up some green pepper, 2 stalks of celery, about 1/4 of a sweet onion and sauted them in a fry pan with some olive oil.  I cooked that until the onions were softening and yellowy and then I added about 1/2 the sausage sliced diagnally.  I stirred everything together and cooked until the sausage was slightly browned.  Then I added approximately 1/2 jar of sweet and sour sauce (you can adjust to your liking) stirring it altogether as well as about 1/2 cup of water to that and continued cooking to heat through.  You can add a dash or two of tabasco sauce if you’d like a little heat.  I served it over some fresh linguine pasta along with a fresh salad.  Very fast and very yum!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Quick Sausage and Sauce over Fresh Linguine Pasta

  1. Such an interesting plant.

    BTW: I’m coming to dinner!

  2. Tag, you’re it! Come to my blog and find out how to play.

  3. i like that donkey tail! is it a succulent? is that what they call them? i have always wanted some of those, but i have a black thumb!

  4. Hi Shelley
    Yes my plant is called a Donkey’s Tail. It is really rather fast growin and interesting. I had always wanted one. Its easy to grow. Any coloured thumb can grow it. *s*.

  5. Hi Judi and thank you for all your sweet words. The framed doily over my bed was made by my Grandmother. They raised cotton on their farm, she picked the cotton and made it into thread on her spinning wheel and then crocheted it. She had given it to my Mother and Mother finally gave it to me. I will cherish it till the day I day. Thank you for even noticing it!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

Leave a Reply

