Friendship

“A friend is a gift you give yourself.”
– Robert Louis Stevenson,

I was thinking about this past summer with its sunny skies and warm weather, the fun and special times with family and friends.  And I thought about Kirsti.  She is my oldest and dearest, my best friend.  We’ve known each other since we were 15 and we went to school together.  “It takes a long time to grow an old friend.” – by John Leonard   

Kirsti and I have shared so much together throughout the years.   Shortly after we started hanging out I got her her first job working at Kresge’s.  We worked in the snackbar together.  “Your friend is someone who knows all about you and still likes you.” – Elbert Hubard. 

Now we sit and talk about our school days together and what we’d get into and what we talked each other out of….and we laugh.  “My best friend is the one who brings out the best in me.”  – Henry Ford

We stood for each other at our weddings and we are godparents to each others eldest child.   We had a wonderful time this past Labour Day weekend when she and her husband visited and spent the night with us.  

We exchanged belated birthday gifts… 

we laughed wholeheartedly at silly things   

“It is a sweet thing, friendship, a dear balm, A happy and auspicious bird of calm…” – Shelly

  

 I tried on my new belt with garden utensils just perfect for container gardening.   My gift from her had a balcony gardening theme to brighten my time outdoors on the balcony.     “Friends are like flowers, beautiful flowers; friends are like flowers in the garden of life.”  – Unknown 

I am blessed to have Kirsti as my best friend.  I know I can always count on her because she takes the time for our friendship even when her day is full and sometimes that can be difficult, and I know, because I have those same days with her.     “Everyone hears what you say. Friends listen to what you say. Best friends listen to what you don’t say.”  – Unknown

Who is your best friend….your spouse, your child, your parent, your dearest friend….what has brought you two together?

Have a lovely day….

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Friendship

  1. The answer is in your own writing: Anyone who “takes the time for our friendship.”

    Kirsti is a treasure.

  2. Lovely post, Judi! I’m thinking exactly as Sally put it “Anyone who takes the time for our friendship” is a true friend.
    Have a beautiful day
    and be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  3. This entry in your blog is so sweet. I liked how you mixed the poetry in with your words. I was also excited a couple of entries back about what you are doing with your son’s painting. What a treasure! Thanks for paying me a visit. It’s always fun to have visitors.

Leave a Reply

