9/11 Remembered – Always

   

God Bless The USA

Where were you on September 11, 2001when tragedy struck at the World Trade Center? 

For me it was just another morning at work in Canada, as it was suppoed to be for many others in New York.  My son called to tell me to put the radio on that there had been a terrible accident…that a passenger airplane had just hit the World Trade Center!  In one of our offices was a little TV and my co-workers and I rushed in to turn it on.   We saw the 2nd airplane hit the building and quickly learned it wasn’t an accident.  It was so devastating…everything around us was buzzing…and then we had silence.  It just couldn’t be real.

In all the aftermath, as in the United States, we in Canada and across the world realized how vulnerable we are.  Since that day we have seen and felt the pain of the families, friends, co-workers, neighbours, everyone involved with that day and who continue to try to understand. 

I’m not an American.  My significant other is,  but that doesn’t matter because I would still love Lee Greenwood’s song “God Bless the USA” (click to hear it at the top).   It has wonderful strength and passion as do our Neighbours.  So when I hear the words I think of the U.S.A.,  and I think of Canada and I think of the everlasting hope for peace around the world.  May it begin with this new day……as we remember 9/11.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “9/11 Remembered – Always

  1. I was in school; it was my planning period, and I was walking down the hallway, going to the restroom. A colleague stopped me, and with eyes wide told me.
    I didn’t believe it could possibly be anything but a horrible accident. When I returned to my classroom, I turned on the TV and saw the second plane. (shudder)

  2. I was at work and someone came into my office and told me. I went into the doctor’s lounge to see it on t.v. I felt shock and fear. We heard about the plane in Pennsylvania and then in Washington. I wanted to run to my children’s school to take them home with me. I felt it was better to leave them with their routine, comforted knowing that the school was dealing with it the best way they could. You are right – 9/11/01 affected everyone – American or not. We all came together that day and that was a good feeling in the midst of the tragedy. Your post today is just beautiful.

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog, I see you sew, okay I’m so jealous (: I wish I could sew that good!! Thanks for your comment. Katie

  4. Jan

    I was alone in my apartment.

    Within hours, I learned that both my cousin and his wife we at work when the plane hit the 2nd tower. Days later, with them presumed dead…we finally located them in a New Jersey hospital. After months of rehab…they moved to Maine.

    I never hear from them anymore. They’ve drifted away from all of their family.

    ~Blessings,
    Jan

    ps…Thanks for the visit and nice comments on my B&B…wish I had it!!! I’d invite ALL of my blogging friends!!!

Leave a Reply

