Trivia Friday – Things You Need to Know About Dogs

I hope everyone has had a good week.  Its been a fast week, but a slow week for me.  I’ve been busy, but had a lots of time to get things done.  I guess at the end of the week that means a good thing.


I wanted to leave you with a Friday Trivia About Dogs, all those things you need to know about dogs…if you felt so inclined. I didn’t realize it cost sooo much money to own a dog!! Is there anything new here you didn’t know about…or you think is different?

– Based on an average life span of 11 years, the cost of owning a dog is $13,350.

– Dogs only sweat from the bottoms of their feet, the only way they can discharge heat is by panting.  Dogs and wolves yawn as a sign of contentment.

– Dogs have about 100 facial expressions most of them done with their ears.  Unfortunately the likes of pitbulls only have about 10 and that is because of their breeding.  Therefore these dogs gets misinterpreted by other dogs and end up getting into fights.

– A dog’s sense of smell is one of the keenest in nature. If a pot of stew was cooking on a stove, a human would smell the stew, while the dog could smell the beef, carrots, peas, potatoes, spices, and all the other individual ingredients in the stew. In fact, if you unfolded and laid out the delicate membranes from inside a dogs nose, the membranes would be larger than the dog itself.

It was recently discovered that dogs DO see in color, just not as vivid as the color that humans see

Two dogs survived the sinking of Titanic, yes that’s right, two DOGS survived. They escaped on early lifeboats carrying so few people that no one objected. Miss Margaret Hays of New York brought her Pomeranian with her in lifeboat No. 7, while Henry Sleeper Harper of the publishing family boarded boat No. 3 with his Pekinese, Sun Yat Sen.

– Giving dogs chocolate could be fatal for them, because theobromine, an ingredient of chocolate, stimulates the central nervous system and cardiac muscle. About 1.1 kg of milk chocolate or just 146 g of cooking chocolate (which has more theobromine per gram) could kill a 22 kg dog.

Have a wonderful weekend.
Judi

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Trivia Friday – Things You Need to Know About Dogs

  1. I didn’t know that chocolate was so dangerous to dogs. We had a dachshund who once climbed onto a kitchen chair, then jumped to the table top and ate an entire candy dish full of chocolate! The most amazing part of this tale is that the chocolate was individually wrapped pieces. Yes, he ate most of the wrappers too! He never got sick.

  2. Thanks for the doggie tips. I do love my little guy, Winston Churchill, my Yorkshire Terrier. Mom here is the one who DID NOT WANT A DOG, but who does Winston love the best? Mom here!!! Maybe it’s because I bathe him, walk him, let him out, take him to the vet, feed him, water him.

    But you know what? I can’t image life without him either.

    Blessings,

    Sher

  3. Great trivia about dogs…..I LOVE dogs (and have two) so it was very interesting. The only one I already knew was about chocolate being (or can be) fatal to dogs. My puppy Lucy must be very content because she seems to yawn all the time….lol

  4. That’s a beautiful picture of your dog. Thanks for the info. I have no doggie of my own, but I do have grand dogs that I doggysit occasionally. Take care.

  5. Very interesting facts! I didn’t realize that they had so many facial expressions. It was also interesting reading the fact that 2 survived the sinking of the Titanic.

    I love your triva posts.

    take care,
    Dawn

  6. Once my dog ate a bunch of chocolate Easter eggs that the Easter bunny carelessly left out. I was in a panic thinking about her laying comatose on the floor, writhing in poisoned agony. But she ate some grass and threw up and was just fine and dandy. But the Easter bunny and I have had a long talk about where he hides his chocolate eggs.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Come back soon!

  7. Hi Judi,

    My dog once ate 250 Easter eggs. She was
    terrifyingly sick, but she lived. Luckily it
    was cheap chocolate. The dark chocolate is the most
    lethal we discovered.

    Is that your doggie? Love your blog.

    Barbara

  8. hi Judi

    what interesting facts, I enjoyed reading those! I can’t believe the Titanic thing

    thanks for popping by the Beach Cottage 😉

    Sarah

  9. I just came back by to ask if your dog is half poodle, half golden retriever. He looks like my daughter’s dog. I think they are both so beautiful. If you want to check Oodie out he is under grand-dogs in my blog files. Have a great day. Love, Faith

  10. Gin

    I love dogs, especially big furry ones. Your dog is too cute, and looks so soft. Great info on dogs. I did not know all that, except about chocolate and their sense of smell

  11. Judi,
    I love my two dogs bunches! I had 2 dogs a few years ago that opened a tin of chocolate chip cookies that a patient gave me for Christmas and didn’t get sick. One of them is still alive at age 15! Amazing! One of the most amazing things was how they got the tin open, sometimes I can’t get them open with my hands much less my teeth!
    Sandyt

Leave a Reply

