Daily Archives: October 22, 2008

Toss In and Its a Dish

First off what happened to  ???  and look what happened yesterday afternoon!!!! Snow and it was on 32F. Yikes.  Thats not what what I heard on the radio on the way to work!!!    But I’m hoping this was just for fun and the nice weather will return today…

Do you ever wonder what in the world you should make for dinner??? I do. 

In the fridge you have bits and leftovers of this and that and do you wonder what to do with them?    Do you pull them out and then start cooking up something wondering what you’ll have at the end?  I do.

and I did.  I took a picture of the bit of uncooked squash from Thanksgiving, baby carrots, onions,  an almost full carton of chicken broth.  I also had a large chicken breast.

I cut all the veggies shown in the picture including one sweet potato, 2 stalks of celery and some garlic.  I fried them up in olive oil.

I removed the veggies and cooked up the cut up chicken .  I added the veggies and the carton of chicken broth.  I brought those to a simmer and then lowered the heat and covered them.  Along the way I added some celery salt, black pepper and poultry seasoning

I cooked them for about an hour and then added in about 1/2 cup of Orzo along with 1 cup of frozen french style green beans.   I mixed them and allowed them to cook for about another 1/2 hour.

The “soup” thickened up to become more “stewlike”.  It smells lovely and ohhhh yum it tastes very good.  I can taste the lovely squash and sweet potatoes with a hint of chicken.  Yum!  I surprized myself actually.  It’ll be delicious with some yummy bread.  Let your creations flow…..

Remember to read my last Friday’s post on my upcoming 200th post giveaway!!!!

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes