Angelica…Pickles

I showed you a picture of a lovely Persian kitty last week but I didn’t post much about her.

Kelly 

tn_halloween-0071 

 Most of you don’t know about Kelly my black and white kitty  I had for almost 19.5 years.  She was black and white and such a good girl.  She loved people and cuddling and purrings and even though she was 20.5 years old she loved to play and run around and jump all over the place.

pretty-kelly

Last fall I discovered she had a tumour in her right jaw.  She continued to do so well but in December I had to put her down.  That was a very hard thing to do.  It seemed she had always been with me forever and I loved that little girl so much.  My boys were only 7 and 11 when we got her and she loved playing rough with them.   I miss my pretty Kelly so much still.

Where I work we have a Veterinary Technician Program and twice a semester they bring in cats and dogs from a local pound.  The students  learn to become technicians by working with the staff and vet learning their skills with the animals.  The animals are so well cared for by the students and mostly they are able to find homes for them and if not the animals go back to the pound for another chance.

fall2008-010

Last week I found out about “Angelica”.  She is a beautiful dilute, calico Persian about 3 years old.  On Tuesday I went back to the clinic to play and become more familiar with her.   The students had called her Angelica…and now they  have added Pickles to her name, Angelica Pickles now isn’t that a name for a fluffy Persian?  She is such a purrrrreer…and loves to be carried and loves to have you pet her and being brushed.  

fall2008-0071   She is in fantastic shape so she did live with a family where she was cared for.  We don’t know what happened next in her life….  I have to make a decision in the next couple of days…

 fall2008-012

I am a little concerned because I have some leather furniture and she has claws.  I know she loves to use a scratch post but….it only takes one scratching session on the sofa.  I’m looking into perhaps having her declawed.  She would only be an inside kitty.   Is your kitty declawed?  Does your kitty scratch your furniture?

11 Comments

Filed under Posts

11 responses to “Angelica…Pickles

  1. They do have to be inside cats if they are declawed don’t they? I think she is gorgeous and sorry about Kelly….you were together such a long time…probably longer than you have known the love muffin [is that what you call Marc, could not remember?] Will the procedure hurt though…youch am a bit of a softy about animals and pain…maybe the vet sedates them?

  2. I don’t have a cat, but I have heard that it’s a cruel thing to declaw them. I know that you’ll check into it thoroughly, so I won’t worry for the cat.

  3. I used to have a cat and have contemplated getting another but I also have concerns. I hope you come to your decision easily!! Angelica Pickles is a great name for a cat!!!

    take care,
    Dawn

  4. Morning Judikins!! Oh, what a pretty kitty Kelly was. I’m so sorry about your loss. I know how it is to love a precious pet and have to give her up to Pet Heaven.
    Now this little Angelica Pickles, how cute it that? She is so beautiful, Judi! I would take her in a heart beat, but Mr. Precious is allergic! My daughter had her kitties declawed and they did just fine. She is so beautiful and she’s a big girl! Can’t wait to see what you decide.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  5. Hi Judi, Angelica is a beautiful cat. Our cat Oliver who is three years old was declawed in the front with laser surgery. I know that declawing is controversial, but our vet recommended it, said she had an older cat who had begun scratching indoors and she declawed him with laser and he was fine. Our Oliver was just fine too, didn’t seem to bother him at all. He’s an inside cat, never goes out.

  6. I know you miss sweet Kelly. She was so sweet looking. Angelica Pickles is very pretty. I have two indoor cats. The female never, ever scratches anything; boy cat scratches everything. So, you might just try her in a confined room first to observe her. Both my cats are leash trained because we have so many wild animals that would harm them. Funny thing, I really don’t have to walk them – as long as they are wearing their harness, they don’t run! They just waltz around with me in the yard. Best wishes with whatever decisions you make and thanks for commenting on my blog. It’s so nice to meet and talk with people from different areas. There will be a really funny photo of one of my cats on tomorrow’s post if you get the chance to come by. Have a great evening.

  7. Hi there Judi, we have a cat and she is not declawed. I’m no cat guru, but I believe as long as they have a scratching device that works for them (there are as many as there are hair dyes), then they won’t go for the furniture. Whenever Sophia looked like she was going to scratch we’d tell her no and then put her at the scratching post. It didn’t take long. It’s a chance you take, but it seems as if your last cat was very happy and so were you. Take care and good luck. I’m more a dog person than cats, but I love all God’s creatures (some more than others…spiders being very low on the list).

  8. Morning Judi, I can’t actually remember the cost of having Ollie declawed using laser surgery as it was done at the same time as his neuter surgery several years ago. I know that it cost more than the “traditional” declaw surgery, but it was much less than $500. I feel like it was, maybe, $80 more than whatever the traditional surgery was. They do offer products online that have sticky surfaces to apply to the sides and backs of sofas that discourage cats from scratching. These may be worth a try at first to see if she even bothers with the furniture. She does look like such a sweetie.

  9. Hi, Judi! I’m dying to know if you decided to take the pretty kitty? Thanks for popping in to see me and your sweet comments.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  10. I am so sorry about Kelly but she lived a long wonderful life. The new kitty is BEAUTIFUL…..our cat is de-clawed and only lives inside. I know it is controversial but with the technology now days it really didn’t seem to bother her at all and we know nothing will be shredded.

  11. What sweethearts! It sounds like Kelly had a wonderful home and APickles will, too.

    We have a Pickles! We named him that because he put us in a pickle when he showed up as a kitten on our patio and wouldn’t leave, at a time we were preparing to move into a TINY house and already had three kitties.

    You know the story. We now have four kitties! (and fortunately, not so tiny a house any more!) We love them all. And yes, they’re all neutered and front declawed, and are never allowed outdoors. It’s a tough decision, but you’ll know what’s best for you and Angelica Pickles.

Leave a Reply

