Remembrance Day, Veteran’s Day. Separate Item Is What is a Grandparent?

Today is Remembrance Day in Canada and Veteran’s Day in the U.S.    Today we remember all the men and women who fought for our rights and our freedom.  For those who gave up their time and for those who gave their lives….today on 11/11.   Marc didn’t serve in the war but he spent a number of years in the navy.    We thank them all.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++==

I have been enjoying reading posts and looking at the lovely pictures you share of your grandchildren.   I chuckle at some of the things my own 4 year old granddaughter Madeline says.  Last night she was feeling a bit tired while she had to eat dinner at my place.  Her arm was hurting she said.  It was her right arm and I think her excuse for not wanting to finish up.   She said she wanted to be an adult…that being a kid was boring….then she decided she does like being a kid but sometimes she has a sore arm.   Fortunately as one might guess that arm felt soooo much better when it was time for dessert. 

Madeline already knows that she is going to be a Taxi Driver when she grows up!  There you go….

 WHAT IS A GRANDPARENT was taken from papers written by 8 year olds that I found sooo cute and funny.  I’m sure they’ll put a smile on your face too.

I just noticed this is quite the mess…so I apologize and hope you can get through it.

 

A grandfather is a man & a grandmother is a lady.

 

Grandparents have no children of their own and like other people’s.

Grandparents don’t have to do anything except be there when we

come to see them. They are so old they shouldn’t play hard or run. It is good if they drive us to the shops and give us money.  

When they go on walks they slow down past things like pretty leaves

and caterpillars.

 

They show us and talk to us about the colors of the flowers and also

why we shouldn’t step on ‘cracks . They don’t say, ‘Hurry up.’

Usually grandmothers are fat but  not too fat to tie your shoes.

They wear glasses and funny underwear.

They can take their teeth and gums out. 

 

Grandparents don’t have to be smart.   

 

They have to answer questions like ‘Why isn’t God married?’ and ‘How come dogs chase cats?’

 

When they read to us, they don’t skip. They don’t mind if we ask for

the same story over again.

Everybody should try to have a grandmother, especially if you don’t have television because they  are the only grownups who like to spend time with us.

They know we should have snack time before bed time and they say prayers with us and kiss us even when we’ve acted bad.

 A 6 YEAR OLD WAS ASKED WHERE

HIS GRANDMA LIVED. ”OH,” HE SAID, ” SHE LIVES AT THE AIRPORT AND WHEN WE WANT HER WE JUST GO GET HER. THEN WHEN WE’RE DONE HAVING HER VISIT, WE TAKE HER BACK TO THEAIRPORT.”

It’s funny when they bend over, you hear gas leaks and they blame

their dog.’

GRANDPA IS THE SMARTEST MAN ON EARTH! HE TEACHES ME GOOD THINGS BUT I DON’T GET TO SEE HIM ENOUGH TO GET AS SMART AS HIM!

 

 


11 Comments

Filed under Posts

11 responses to “Remembrance Day, Veteran’s Day. Separate Item Is What is a Grandparent?

  1. I’ve read it before, but since I’m so old (I am a grandparent) I’ve forgotten it. It’s always good for another laugh. 😉

  2. Hi there Judi, I love this post. Go to Twice as Nice at http://twiceasnicetwin.blogspot.com/ they have a cute sign I think you’d like about grandparents. Take care (let them know I sent you) 🙂
    JuJU

  3. I love your story of your granddaughter, too funny! Thanks for commenting on my blog too!

    Heidi Jo the Artist
    http://swirlsofcreativity.etsy.com
    http://swirlsofcreativity.blogspot.com

  4. Am so glad Madeline’s arm was better so that she could eat her dessert!

    Priceless words…especially the last one and the fat grandma one and the airport one.

  5. That was so cute! I’m happy to say that I am a grandmother with my own teeth!!! (well, if you don’t count the fact that I have 12 crowns in my mouth LOL!)

    That was a sweet way to start the day.

    take care,
    Dawn

  6. Thank you, Judi, for recognizing our veteran’s today! Oh, I’m envious! I don’t have any grandchildren. This was so cute!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  7. taxi driver, how cute ! And that last comment about the gas leaks is a real HOOT ! Kids ,you gotta love em.

  8. That is hilarious….you really never know what kids might say about anything!!

  9. Oh, how cute. The things kids say! Your granddaughter sounds like a cutie :o) The one about the airport cracks me up. Have a great day.

  10. Me, again, Judi! Oh, that little Madeline is a hoot! I wish I had thought up the ‘sore arm’ excuse when I was little. It’s amazing how desert is such a healing thing, isn’t it!? Your blog is looking like “Judi” again!!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  11. These comments from children are precious. I am so blessed to be a grandma who lives close by and not at the airport. Love, Faith

Leave a Reply

