Taco Soup and Cornbread

Taco Soup

halloween-and-soup-034

A couple of Saturdays ago it was one of those fall Saturdays, a bit crispy and sunny outdoors and warm and cozy indoors.  The fireplace was on and it felt like some comfort food.  The Love Bunny and I made Taco soup.  The recipe was filled with the yummiest ingredients and was easy to make. 

Wholesome yum and it kept getting tastier as the flavours mellowed with the leftovers we enjoyed that week…with sour cream!   halloween-and-soup-053

This is the Taco Soup recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean group beef
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 3 (15 1/2 ounce) cans mild chili beans, undrained
  • 1 (14 1/2 ounce) can whole tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 (14 1/4 ounce) can corn, undrained
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (1 1/4 ounce) package taco seasong mix
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Brown beef with onions and then drain the fat.  Add all the ingredients except the cheese breaking up the tomatoes.  Bring this to a boil.   Lower temperture and simmer for about 60 minutes, stirring occasionally.   Serve in individual bowls topped with the shredded cheese…and sour cream if you dare!..YUMMY

Along with it we made Cornbread in a heavy skillet.   It had corn in it and cornmeal and green chillies.  The soup and cornbread were delish together.  halloween-and-soup-030

Here is the Cornbread recipe I used.

Mexican Cornbread

1 cup cornmeal, preferably yellow

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 cup grated Cheddar cheese (4 ounces)
4-ounce can chopped green chiles, drained
1 can corn
2 tablespoons minced onion
1-1/4 cups buttermilk ( I used milk and soured it with a tablespoon of vinegar)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 tablespoon bacon drippings

Preheat oven to 375°F.
Melt bacon drippings in an 8- or 9-inch skillet or pan. Set in the oven to heat while you mix the cornbread batter.

Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Stir in cheese and chiles.

Separately, beat together the milk, water, oil and eggs and corn. Stir in the dry ingredients just until moistened.

Pour batter into hot pan and bake at 375°F for about 50 minutes or until top is a nice, soft brown and the middle seems done.  Don’t overcook though.  Allow to cool and turn onto plate. 

16 Comments

Filed under Recipes

16 responses to “Taco Soup and Cornbread

  1. Oh, this makes me hungry. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  2. I love Taco Soup! My recipe is almost like yours…except it calls for Hidden Valley Ranch dressing-the dry mix-

    Thanks for the inspiration! I think I’ll make some this weekend!

    Love your BIG pictures!
    diane

  3. Morning, Judi! Oh, how I love Taco and you’re making my mouth water!! This would taste so good here today because it’s raining and cooler! Yum. I think I’ll just to your house and eat some leftovers! LOL
    I went out into the garage to check the wall paint color and it’s called Lightweight Beige from Sherman Williams.
    Be a sweetie and thanks for stopping by,
    Shelia 😉

  4. I enjoy taco soup, and I’m copying your recipe. Thank you.

  5. Ouch…when I got to the bottom of of the page and saw the cornbread, I started drooling. I recently found out I have a gluten intolerance so I have been making cornbread quite a bit lately, but I find my recipe to be a bit bland.
    Please do post yours, as I am looking for alternative recipes for this.
    Thanks!

  6. Oh that sounds wonderful. My sister just posted a day or two ago her recipe for taco soup. It is very similar to yours except she also adds Ranch dressing mix. Your cornbread sounds great also. I like to put cream style corn and jalapenos in mine.

  7. That soup sounds so good. I am crazy about cornbread, too.

  8. Mmmmm, both sound good. Maybe that will be tomorrow’s dinner. Thanks for the recipes.

  9. Ooooo a bunch of my bloggy friends are sharing recipes today and making me HUNGRY!!! I LOVE soup and cornbread!!!

  10. I’ve never had taco soup. It sounds very good. I especially like the sour cream part 🙂 It’s cold out today and the soup and cornbread would hit the spot!

    I also wanted to let you know that the package arrived today. The minute I opened it, the smell came out and it was wonderful. My son watched me open everything!! I will post pictures of my goodies on my blog soon. The ones I took today came out too dark. I just love it all! Thank you! Thank you! Thanky you! It made my day!

    take care,
    Dawn

  11. Judi, this looks so good. I would love a bowl just about now.

    Has your e-mail address changed? The e-mails I send you are being returned.

  12. Hi Judi, I have the same taco soup recipe and it’s a favorite of my college-age kids and their friends. I love that it can be doubled or tripled so easily. It disappears in no time at our house!

  13. OH MY GOODNESS!! That looks so good I can smell the fragrant spices just LOOKING at it!!

  14. HI there Judi, I put the award up, so stop by when you have time (I know you are a busy lady). This soup looks ridiculously yummy. Thanks for sharing
    Take Care

  15. This sounds so good right now.

Leave a Reply

