Beef Vegetable Bean Soup

You know if you like beans thats a good thing because they are so good for you too!  High in fibre and no fat.   Now I seem to have some kind of fascination for beans.   You guys have more beans that we do in Canada so it seems I’ve been stocking up over the summer.  In the summer when its hot we tend not to make too many comfort foods that I might put beans into, but I do love them in salads.  Well today I made such a salad and opened up a lovely can of navy beans for it.  halloween-and-soup-0441It was at that time that I discovered I had this “collection”  (2 cans are not in the picture because I used them today).  Now I didn’t want to pull out all the packages of split peas, yellow and green and whole beans and lentils I have in this “collection” for the picture.  

On the back of a can of butter beans was a recipe for Beef Vegetable Bean Soup.  Sooooo because it was a rainy and dismal day thats what I was making for dinner.  That would take care of 2 cans of beans, 1-1/2 cans for the soup, the rest for a couple days work of salad.   I’m home this weekend busy making soaps and jewellery for my Christmas sales coming up.   So I made the soup.  Last week we made Taco Soup.  This is a bit similar but has these wonderful beans in them.  In the place of curry powder which I was out of I added some Taco seasoning mix. 

Ingredients:

1 lb. lean hamburger

1 onion (diced)

1 can butter beans + I had 1/2 can navy beans opened so added them also

1 16oz stewed tomatoes

1 can tomato soup, undiluted

1 can of corn

2-3 tsp. curry powder (I used some Taco seasoning)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: 

Fry up the beef for about 5 minutes and then add the onions.  halloween-and-soup-017 Cook until the onions are softened.  halloween-and-soup-018 Add the rest of the ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Lower the heat, stir and cover.  Continue cooking for 1 hour on low stirring periodically.

 halloween-and-soup-022

This really turned out so yummy.  It was so easy too.  After I took the picture I wondered how this soup might taste with a some grated cheese … and a tablespoon of nonfat sour cream?  Wanna know?  DELISH!!  

halloween-and-soup-0341 

halloween-and-soup-042

Today I’m driving an hour north to my mom’s.   We are going to the Sugarplum Craft Sale at the Nottawasaga Inn.  This has become an annual event.  I’m taking some soup for her.  She has a container and it seems to be going back and forth between us.   This week I had dinner at her place and it came back to me again and  with leftovers.  Now that its time to take it back to her I’ve put in some Beef Vegetable Bean Soup.  Try it and if you do let me know what you think.  Whew.  I’m down 2 cans now.

You know…the butter beans have 6 gm of fibre in 1/2 cup.  That sounds like a lot!

Have a lovely day.    Judi

14 Comments

Filed under Recipes

14 responses to “Beef Vegetable Bean Soup

  1. I absolutely love and appreciate new people visiting with me, sweet chickee!! I’ve read through your posts and find them quite entertaining, especially the one about grandparents! Hah. Yep, that’s usually the way it is. I also appreciate your post about our veterans since my family has many of them in it. Canada is one of the countries I admire most along with Australia who stick by the U.S. in times of war and hardship and also saved our embassy members back in the 70s or 80s by hiding them in the Canadian embassy. You’ve got our back, Canada and we here in the U.S. appreciate that. We love you in this family!!! I’m so glad you dropped by to visit with me. Thank you!
    Smooches to you and your military guy…
    Connie

  2. This looks great! Nothing like a good soup on a cold day! It is 34 here….BRRR!

  3. Sounds really good and a good way to slim down all those canned goods! Hope you have a great time with your mom at the craft show!

  4. That sounds really good! I am cooking a roast beef for dinner today and bought one a little bigger than I need so I can make some soup. I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE homemade soup. It’s rainy and dismal here as well…a good day for cooking.

    You sure do have a lot of beans! I don’t think I’ve ever had more than 2 cans at a time in my cupboard. LOL!

    take care,
    Dawn

  5. Judi, thanks for sharing this recipe. I’m always on the lookout for good soup recipes with the cooler fall and winter weather we are having.

    Blessings,

    Sher

  6. tootsie

    hello? how are you? I think that soup looks fantastic!
    Lately all the great recipes I see I am wanting to try….blog land is making me fat! I hate cooking and I am not able to make some and not eat the whole thing….so here I am eating all these recipes (my kids don’t eat much of them) lol

  7. Yummy, Judi! This soup looks so delicious! I’ll have a bowl, please!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  8. I just love homemade soup this time of year–especially when it’s rainy and cold like it’s been here—thanks for sharing this recipe. It makes me cozy just reading it.

  9. Looks yummy. I bet a bowl would make me feel better =)

  10. Hi Judi! Thanks for coming by my blog!!! This bean soup looks so GOOOOD!!!!! We eat a lot of beans, so will have to try it! Thanks….will have a look around the rest of your blog!!!

  11. Hi Judi, we love beans and I will have to make that soup sometime this winter.

  12. That looks fantastic..sorry you could not get it to your mum

  13. Deb

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. I love finding new recipes,especially comfort food for the winter.

    I enjoy your blog. Thanks so much

  14. I have a fascination with beans too…my last 4 dinners have had legumes as the main ingredient. Chili…split pea soup…baked beans…more baked beans.
    That’s enough rocket fuel to put a guy into orbit 😉

Leave a Reply

