Tea-for-One Sets ….. for the birds?

Good Morning…its Pink Saturday again!  Beverly from HowSweettheSound is hosting Pink Saturday where you can click and travel throughout her Saturday post to participants who are showing and taking about all the loveliness of PINKS.    Be sure to visit her blog and leave a comment on the PINK blogs you visit so they will know you’ve been there.  That makes it more fun too!

Those of you who have read my blog since the summer know that I love to take Tea-for-One (teapot and cup sets) and transform them.  I like to make them into a Teapot Garden Party for the Birds such as this PINK one.  Cute isn’t it?  I have made about 18 of them.  They have all sold except for 4 that I’ve kept or given away as gifts.  fall2008-032

I just look at these little Tea-for-One sets in a different way these days.  There are so many different colours and styles available.  Well this fall I found and purchased this French Toile, red and white transferware Tea-for-One set with the intention of making it into the same type of bird feeder which would involve drilling and bolting the pretty little one.halloween-and-soup-0212 

When I got it home I just couldn’t do any alterations to it.  It sits in my hutch where I can admire it just the way it is.  Pretty? halloween-and-soup-0213 I do have to admit it was called a red and white transferware but there is such a soft PINK hue to the colour.  I am passing it through for you to admire the PINK in it. 

26 Comments

Filed under Posts

26 responses to “Tea-for-One Sets ….. for the birds?

  1. Good Saturday morning to you too even I thin you have in this moment still Friday !
    Your teapot and cup are warmly coloured, just like ready for Christmas.
    My window view is here just like from Christmas card, about 10 centimeters smooth, glimmering snow and -4C.
    I am going to take my kicksledge and enjoy about fresh air and speed 🙂
    My pink post is from Yalta, Ukraine, because I can not find any pink from my home or outside now.

    Happy weekend to you!

  2. Sorry, k dropped down perhaps to the Atlantic sea,
    so it should be “think” not thin !

  3. How very beautiful! I love the images on the teapot.

  4. Hi Judi,
    Love the teapots. I knew I had seen on a blog somewhere the teapot birdfeeders!

    Hope you will do a tutorial on how to make these!

    Diane

  5. Lovely post. I love transfer ware. Hugs Denise

  6. I think you made a wise decision not to mess with this valuable set. Happy Pink Day, Judi.

  7. That is an interesting use for your tea for ones…I have recently been looking for just the right sets for my kids so that they can make themselves tea…they both like different flavors and so cannot share the same pot. Of course, despite my many full sized tea sets, I am not sure if I will be able to resist buying one for myself if they each get one…

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  8. Love the teapots.
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Blessings,
    Virginia

  9. I love your birdie feeder teapots…..I am glad you didn’t do that one. It is really gorgeous and I know looks lovely in your hutch!

  10. I’m starting to look at teapots for one in a new way since reading your blog and looking at your lovely finds. Do the birds enjoy your efforts?

  11. Judi it is very pretty indeed. I know you love to make those bird feeders but I can see why you couldn’t do it to this one. It’s beautiful! I’m sure it looks lovely sitting in the hutch.

    I’m glad you were able to laugh along with me this morning. Oh, it’s not always fun getting older LOL!

    take care,
    Dawn

  12. I love teapots and teacups!!!!..any excuse I can think of to have a tea party…..I am in:)
    Love your red french toile tea pot!!!!

    Happy Pink Saturday!!!
    Blessing to you:)

    kayellen

  13. Hi Judi!! Oh, this is so cute and you’re marvelous to know how to do this! I think I like your transferware just the way it is – it’s beautiful!!
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  14. Happy Pink Saturday! ENJOY your day! Fifi

  15. I think the tea for one’s are so quaint and cute. Love your toile one !

  16. Robyn

    LOVE the first photo of the pink “posey” teacup and teapot – so sweet and the idea of turing them into birdfeeders is so original – I can see why the majority have sold! Hope you have a wonderful week!

  17. Joy

    LOVE the transferware. Looks very salmon pink to me!

  18. What a cute way to display the tea for one!

    I just love your Martha Stewart Thanksgiving! So funny (and soooo true).

    Happy Pink Saturday…and

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Stephanie

  19. what a treat for the birds, and your teapots are a treat to see.Happy pinkness
    Kindredly,EllenL a new blogger

  20. Love the pink transferware! And no…I don’t think I could do it either! It is so pretty.

    c

  21. So glad you did not drill into that set…the cup is such a pretty shape. I guess if you found a lot of them at thrift shops you might not mind so much….how many of the same tea for one can one person use? It is different for Erin above as her kids like to drink tea too. Bit I guess you would need different sets so everyone has their own in that case!
    Good to hear you sold most of them Judi.

  22. Wonderful teapot collection.

    Happy Belated PS

    Kris

  23. Your teapot collection is very lovely. I could really go for some of them. I would although drink coffee from them, I’m not much of a tea drinker.

    Nice meeting you and reading your blog. See ya soon.
    Sondra

  24. Happy Pink Saturday, Judi. I know I am late getting to your post, but I am trying to catch up.

    I love the sets you make, but I believe I would have kept the transferware for myself, too.

Leave a Reply

