Happy New Year!! Tourtiere..yum..

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.  Its hard to imagine it came by so quickly….and slipped out quickly too.  Ours was really lovely.    We were all at my mom’s for Christmas Eve which is when we celebrate.  langstons-to-xmas-decorations-051 It was wonderful for us all to be together and it was so cute watching Madeline getting so “into” it this year and helping to hand out gifts.

langstons-to-xmas-decorations-0411

The dinner my mom had prepared was just so abundant with delicious food.  We truly are blessed. 

On Christmas morning the Love Bunny and I drove to Rochester, NY to spend the afternoon and evening with his daughter and her family.    langstons-to-xmas-decorations-167Jack is 1-1/2 years old now and he was so sweet and loved his trucks and toys.  We came back home the next day.

Tonight for New Year’s eve  we are having my girlfriend Kirsti and her husband for a Pajama Party!  They’ll come over and we’ll have appetizers and play some games. 

We are having French Canadian Tortiere which is a meat pie for dinner.  langstons-to-xmas-decorations-171  Last week the Love  Bunny and I made one for ourselves and it was just so yum we decided to remake it for New Year’s dinner.  We are also making New England Clam Chowder.  They live an hour away so will spend the night.    My birthday is on Saturday and Peter’s is on the 17th so we’ll be celebrating birthdays too.    langstons-to-xmas-decorations-177

If you are interested here is the recipe:

Tourtiere (French Canadian Beef Pie)

2 lbs combination of minced meat, pork and veal

1 large onion, diced

1 can chicken broth

1/8 tsp ground cloves

salt and pepper to taste

sprinkle of paprika

sprinkle of cinnamon

Double pie crust – I used a ready made package.  (gosh I wish we had these in Canada).

Fry the onion in some oil until softened.  Remove from pan and put aside.  Brown the meat in frying pan stirring into little pieces and then add the cooked onion.  Add spices.  Add broth and stir together.  Cover and simmer for about 45 minutes stirring periodically.

Put down the bottom pie crust in 9″ pie pan.  Add the meat mixture.  Put on the top layer and pierce with fork.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until lightly browned at 425F. 

I serve it with gravy, my zucchini relish and/or chili sauce.  YUM!!!!

To all my lovely blogging friends I wish for you a wonderful New Year and from us here to you there may your 2009 be full of good wishes…good health and good cheer and EVERYTHING good!  Your friendship means so very much to me.  Happy New Year and see you then!!   Judi

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes

8 responses to “Happy New Year!! Tourtiere..yum..

  1. Morning Judi,

    That meat pie looks and sounds delicious! I wanted to wish you a Happy New Year. I am so glad we “met” through blogging and I look forward to blogging with you in 2009!

  2. Terrie

    How fun is that, a pj party on New Years Eve!! And your beef pie looks so yummy!! Have fun!!
    Terrie

  3. Happy New Year to you as well Judi!! I hope this year brings you an abundance of happiness. Enjoy the evening with your friends. The three of us stay home and enjoy each other’s company and food!! The pie looks really good. I think my husband would like it, but I don’t know about that boy of mine LOL!

    take care,
    Dawn

  4. Oh Judi…your Christmas looked just perfect! Happy Birthday in advance!!!
    Happy New Year also!
    Hugs-
    Julie

  5. Bo

    Hi Judi…what a thoughtful idea to have a “pajama party” for friends on New Year’s Eve..not having to drive home on a possibly dangerous night…& your menu sounds divine…Have a wonderful time & a very happy new year! 😉 Bo

  6. That meat pie looks good. Happy New Year!

  7. happy new year! I have 70 minutes left and I think I will be asleep before 2009 hits! how sad is that…I am 37…but feel 73! lol

  8. Hello Judi, thank you so much for your visit yesterday and your sweet comment.

    It looks like your holiday was full of love with family with a great meal together. the meat pie looks so good.

    I tried so hard to visit everyone yesterday but time ran out. Wishing you and your loved ones a happy and healthy new year. May all good things be yours in 2009.

    Blessings…Jeanne

Leave a Reply

