Happy 2009….

Well….we made it.  It is 2009 and so far its been a lovely year!  The sky is blue, the ground is white and there is a still, crispness in the air.   Angelica Pickles is looking so pretty newyears2008-026this morning wearing a huge bow Kirsti newyears2008-022tied on her.   

I hope 2008 left with grace and no matter what you were doing the transition was happy.  Often times we have trouble staying up to midnight but we did so well last night.

Our friends came packed with unexpected goodies as well as their pajamas.  The Love Bunny and I were so pleased with the way dinner turned out.  I will  share the ClamChowder recipe we put together and served as one of our courses.   After dinner we watched part of ABBA’s DVD which had their song “Happy New Year”…and with the countdown at TimesSquare we greeted the new year with some champagne and Peter set his camera on tripod and timer to take a picture of all of us.   I’ll look forward to receiving the picture from him.

They brought a delicious New Year’s/Birthday cake we had at some point before our 2:00 a.m. bedtime rolled along. newyears2008-018  newyears2008-021I obviously took a HUGE breath to make sure I blew alllllll the candles out. 

 

 

 

We were up at 7:30 and the Love Bunny and I prepared brekky for us and we tried a new breakfast casserole recipe that was ready in only 15 minutes.  It was great because we didn’t have to prepare it the night before.  I’ll share the recipe tomorrow as well.  We served it with fried potatoes and toast and I can’t even imagine we were hungry again….ever after our grazing evening.  But today is a new day…a new year…a good day to start a diet…once again.  *g*.

Perhaps this will be a day you’ll visit with friends, or family…perhaps this will be a day to take down Christmas..or perhaps you’ll  relax and rejuvenate.  I’ll finish packing my Christmas decorations away and otherwise we’ll take it easy.  newyears2008-013Even my “buddies” will set aside their newly acquired New Year’s hats and slip away for another year.

Have a lovely day….*hugs*.  Judi

11 Comments

Filed under Posts

11 responses to “Happy 2009….

  1. Happy New year to you and yours. The cat is beautiful.

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful evening with friends! What a beautiful looking cake!!! I hope your birthday wish comes true!! 🙂

    Can you believe I am a native Cape Codder who doesn’t like seafood. Clam chowder just doesn’t appeal to me. My poor father could never believe that I didn’t like it! He was a fisherman in his spare time and I would ask him to catch me a side of beef LOL!

    My warmest wishes are coming your way for a wonderful 2009!

    Good luck in the drawing I am having.

    take care,
    Dawn

  3. Happy Birthday to you!

    Happy Birthday to you!

    Happy Birthday, Dear Judi!

    Happy Birthday to you!

    And a very Happy New Year as well!

    Look at that de-licious cake! And I love the blow on Angelica Pickles. LOL! So cute! I hope both your year and your birthday are full of blessings!
    It’s been so nice meeting you, and I look forward to blogging with you throughout 2009 and beyond!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  4. Hi Judi,

    Happy New Year! Your cat is adorable. Love the bow. I look forward to your upcoming recipes. 15 minutes and breakfast is ready sounds fabulous to me. I’ve got a big family and when they wake up they are always starving…4 teenage boys! I’m so glad to have found your blog.

    ≈desiree

  5. Happy Birthday, Judi! Is your birthday the 31st? My baby boy’s birthday is the 31st, and I always tell him that the world celebrates. I love that beautiful cake.

  6. Happy Birthday to you – it’s my husband’s 50th this year!! Thanks for popping by my blog and leaving a delightful comment. Happy New Year to you, love Judith

  7. Happy New Year’s Judi, and Happy Birthday too. Sounds like you had a lovely evening. Love Angelina Pickles’ bow! We spent the day today relaxing and taking down/putting away Christmas tree and decorations. I love getting it all out after Thanksgiving, but I’m also always glad to pack it all away again at New Year’s!

  8. Happy birthday to you…
    Happy birthday toooo you…
    Happy birthday dear Judi….
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOOOOO YOU!!!!!!

    Happy New Year Judi!

  9. Happy Birthday Judi! Sounds like you had a very fun evening! Grandparents, Jacob & I worked a very hard jigsaw puzzle….

  10. Ms. Pickles looks so pretty! The bow does a lot for her, but she is just stunning in her natural beauty alone!!!

    That cake looked decadent! Was it moist? It sure looked like it was! I am wanting a peice right now!!!

  11. Happy Birthday Judi. This is a good year for us. . . I’m turning 50 this year too ~ in October!! Hope you celebrated as you wanted. . .in your P.J.’s sounds fine to me 🙂

    Blessings,

    Sher

Leave a Reply

