Gift Giving Gifts

For Christmas the Love Bunny, Marc gave me this lovely Taste of Home Cookbook.  birthdays-2008-010Its in a binder form and its really neat because each recipe has 4 different takes of the recipe some simpler than others and each one also has a recipe for ” Serving for Two. ”  I can’t wait to start making goodies from it and so far I’ve been oogling at the pictures. 

 

 

 

 

 

Now the cookbook also has  a free 1 Year Subscription to a Taste of Home magazine included in the package.  Isn’t that neat?   

 Janet (Marc’s daughter) gave me this beautiful 2009 Better Homes & Gardens Cake Calender. birthdays-2008-004 Let me tell you it has wicked cakes, a different one for each month. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Look at January’s Bourbon Chocolate Tipsy Cake.  birthdays-2008-013Now is this some sort of different type of mold they are using, or what are they doing?  I’ve never seen one like this?  Has anyone seen one or have a suggestion where I could get one?  Now if not I guess I could use a bundt cake though the effect will be different.  YUMMYYYY eh? (thats Canadian for yes?)  *s*..

 

 

 

 

Well can you imagine the Calendar also came with a 1 Year Subscription to Better Homes and Gardens magazine! birthdays-2008-0111 I was so doubled wowed by this double gift idea.  So I’m going to send them off.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 The first thing I said when I got the calendar was that I would bake the cake of the month each month. birthdays-2008-005  So I may just be sharing some lovely pics and recipes…..mmmmm…  I hope you have a yummy kind of day …   Judi

11 Comments

Filed under Posts

11 responses to “Gift Giving Gifts

  1. Judi,

    May I pleaaaaaaaase come to your house to eat??? What a great cookbook, and I want that chocolate cake on the cover of the magazine! Neat that you got that subscription with the cookbook.

    Wishing you a very happy day!

    xo,

    Sheila 🙂

  2. What fun to get magazine subscriptions along with your new cookbooks. I look forward to seeing the things you cook out of them.

  3. I gained five pounds just looking at those photos! THank you SOOOOOO much – NOT!
    :-)))

    Hey! I found the fuchsia rose purse — the one I found on someone’s blog? Hers is not felted — I added two more rounds to account for shrinkage during felting, plus I wanted more petals (with me, where roses are concerned, MORE IS MORE!). Anyway, here’s the link, and happy hooking!!
    http://crochetme.com/Feb_Mar_2005/patt_fleuri.html

  4. I wished that I lived close enough to drop in once a month!

  5. What thoughtful and “tasteful” (yes, pun intended!) gifts. The cake looks good. I love looking at cook books but the “boys” in my family are strictly meat and potato guys!

    How nice that both of those gifts came with a magazine subscription.

    take care,
    Dawn

  6. Suzanne

    Wow…..wow again. Lots of good recipes. Neat that the cookbook offers variations to the recipes, and that Cake calendar….yowsers! You might could fine a similar cake pan at Williams Sonoma or Sur La Table…both online. Show us when you make them, please!!!

    Suzanne

  7. Thank you for visiting and Happy New Year to you too. I am so glad to see your new cookbooks you got for Christmas. (I can’t believe you got the magazines too!) I love cookbooks and can never get enough of them. I spend hours just looking before ever baking anything. Have a good weekend.

  8. Judi I am sooo at your house for meals and cakes! LOL!
    What great gifts those are. Now those are gifts I can really appreciate.
    You know I looked at my pics and if a person didn’t know better, they would think there was something wrong with those elephant seals, but honestly they were sunbathing. I actually have one where the elephant seal is flipping me the bird (his fin!)lol
    Those boats do look like they are in straight lines. I never looked at it that way. Thanks for the new perspective.
    Enjoy your day and I hope you’re keeping warm!

  9. Evening, Judiness! Oh, I love cookbooks and since you’re going to be trying out so many new recipes, maybe you’ll invite me over to eat! Thanks for the visit and the compliments!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  10. Hello Judi, thank you for your welcome comment today. I think your cat is a bonus and a good rescue too. I enjoyed the story about how you adopted Abby.

    Your cook books are awesome. I love to cook and bake. I do less baking now because of the sugar. Two of my sisters are diabetic and I have to watch mine too. So far I am ok but not without a big effort on my part. Be sure and post your cakes so we can have a cyber piece. smile.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  11. What awesome gifts! I could not have them around cause I would want to make and EAT all of these lovelies! I WOULD love the magazine subscriptions though…for sure!!!
    I have never seen that one chocolate cake mold either…it sure is a wildly strange one! I like the look of it, but the designer must have been on drugs to have come up with it!!! LOLOL! 🙂

Leave a Reply

