Out of the Mouths of Babes

langstons-to-xmas-decorations-0541Don’t you just love what comes out of the mouths of babes?  I just love a good conversation with my granddaughter Madeline.  She is 4.5 years old and she’s very girly and sensible and is careful about the  things she says and does.  I think she’s a model child if you ask me.    I said she is very pink and girly but likes to fish, and handle worms and skate and hang upside down  over the monkey bars at the park (quite unlike girly) and wrestle with her dad etc. 

Last night I picked her up to share a “girl’s evening” together.  Because I’ve been busy with this “spring” cleaning I thought we’d pick up a pizza and have that at my place along with a salad.   She thought the Pizza Pizza place was so different to the one she is used to picking up a pizza from with her parents.   She asked if I thought we should eat in the store.  I said sure if she wanted to and she said sure, did I want to??  That settled we did.  We decided as a treat to share a  carton of chocolate milk.  As she sipped from her glass she said that her mom wouldn’t be happy if she was drinking the chocolate milk.  Its full of sugar.  It doesn’t have protein!  She explained protein is full of vitamins and vitamins are good for you.  

In between the meal she had to use the lady’s room so I went in with her.  She was careful not to touch everything because its not that clean she said.  She washed her hands well and on the way out I opened the door.  She told me that door was dirty and that I should have used a paper towel…hmmm… now did I say she is 4.5 years old?

We baked chocolate cupcakes and while they baked we played Junior Kindergarten.  I was one student among 5 other barbie type dolls I have here.   She was the teacher.  She called me “Lea” so I called her Miss Rosemary.  *s*.   For being good we got to choose a special gift.   She has chicken eggs in an incubator at school so of course “our” school had a plastic egg getting ready to hatch in a little box under my lamplight.   We were in the middle of frosting and pouring on 1/2 a container of sprinkles per cupcake when her parents arrived.  Yum….we had a wonderful visit with a grand finale of sharing cupcakes… *s*…   I was so busy playing that I didn’t take any pictures  unfortunately.                            Enjoy your day……  Judi xoxo

14 Comments

Filed under 1104431

14 responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes

  1. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying this time of her life. It passes so quickly.

  2. Bo

    Little Madeline is not only a beautiful child but very smart too! 😉 Bo

  3. That little Madeline is one gorgeous little smart girl! She knows everything. Her parents are teaching her correctly and I pat them on the back for that. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  4. What a girls night out you two had! She is precious and that sounds like a perfect evening, especially cupcakes! Does she like to shop with you yet?

  5. Judi, your story of your day with precious Madeline was so adorable. As young as she is, she seems very grown up. Thank you for sharing your perfect day with cupcakes as the sweet surprise. Mmmmmm.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  6. Judi, she is just precious! I’m so glad you got that great “cupcake” time together. I know she loves you as much as you love her! 🙂

    XO,

    Sheila

  7. Aren’t grandchildren just the best? It sounds like you had a wonderful time together. I can see Mom is teaching her well :>) Enjoy all of those precious moments because they grow up fast.

  8. hahahahahaahaaaa!!! Oh, how sweet/funny is she?? You know….sounds a LOT like me and my germ-a-phobe-ness! I never ever open a public knob without a paper towel either, always wipin down carts before I touch them, etc etc……Madeline’s my kinda gal!

  9. Judi…She is just adorable! My grand-daughter is 4, too…and I enjoy every second with her. She’s coming to spend the weekend, and I have all kinds of fun things planned for us. Memories I want her to hold on to always!

  10. Jan

    Precious little one.

    Thanks for the visit…and kind comments…please stop back…I’m having a Give-Away…ends Saturday night!

  11. She is a beautiful and quite smart! I have students who don’t even know to wash their hands after using the bathroom. ICK!

    It sounds like you had a fun filled evening! The plastic eggs under your light just has me smiling!

    I’m feeling a bit better (still a little sore). Thanks for the well wishes ☺

    take care,
    Dawn

  12. Hi Judi and thank you for the sweet visit and sweet words to me today!
    Hope you’ll get to enjoy your grandbaby again this weekend.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  13. Ahhhh, that is such a sweet granddaughter story!! These little ones are SO aware of the most amazing things at such an early age!! You can tell that on top of being very bright, she has had lots of “teaching” from her parents—and her grandmother!

    Dana

  14. What an angel she is, Judi! What a great time with her! I used to play “school” with my daughter…what fantastic times!!! Now I must wait for my grandkids to get home from Germany so I can play with them. I will be watching for any good fun things I can tell from my trip over there this March! Grandson is 4 now!

Leave a Reply

