Bourbon-Chocolate Tipsy Cake

2009-january-021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember for Christmas Janet gave me a wonderful 12 month Cake Calendar?  Each month has a different cake recipe.  So on the weekend I made the Bourbon-Chocolate Tipsy Cake – the January cake.

NOTE:  The recipe calls for some bourbon which I didn’t have.  When we were on our cruise last spring we bought a bottle of Coffee Rum from St. Kitts.  I think if you prefer to omit the liquor you could increase the liquid, which is the instant coffee mixture by 1/2 cup.   I added 1/4 cup of the coffee rum and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1/2 cup bourbon the recipe called for. 

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped

2 ox. sweet baking chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup instant coffee crystals

2 tbsp boiling water

1/2 cup bourbon

1 cup unsalted buttered, softened

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1-1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp bourbon

powered sugar

1.  Butter a 10-inch fluted tube pan.  Add cocoa powder to pan; shake and tilt pan to coat the bottom sides and tube and shake out the excess.   In a bowl combine flour, baking soda, and salt.

2.  In small microwave bowl combined the unsweetened and sweet chocoltes.  2009-january-010Microwave for about a minute.  Stir.  Microwave in 30 second sets, stirring until melted.  Cool slightly.

 

  

3.  In 2-cup glass measure disolve coffee crystals in the boiling water.  Add enough cold water to measure 1.5 cups liquid.  Stir in 1/2 cup bourbon – (I used 1/4 cup coffee rum and 1/4 cup water.  If you don’t want to use liquor try increasing the coffee mixture from 1.5 to 2 cups)2009-january-012

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.  In large bowl beat butter for 30 seconds and then add suar and beat well.  Beat in eggs one at a time .  Beat in melted chocolate and vanilla.  2009-january-013

Alternatively add flour mixture ad bourbon mixture to chocolate mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixgure.  Beat on low speed after each addition just until combined.  Pour into pan. 

 5.  Bake 325F about 60 minutes or until wooden toothpick comes out clean.  Remove from heat and allow to cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes.  Invert onto rack and allow to cool completely.  Brush cake with 2 tbsp. of the bourbon (I used coffee rum and you may want to use some more of the coffee mixture instead).   Allow to sit for a few minutes and sift powder sugar over cake.   

2009-january-027

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a very delicious cake.  It is extremely moist and I know you will just love it!!  WE sure did.   

Have a lovely day… Judi xoxo

16 Comments

Filed under Recipes

16 responses to “Bourbon-Chocolate Tipsy Cake

  1. Oh Lordy that looks good! I think it would be so much better with rum. I am not a whisky lover! Your cake turned out so beautiful ( and moist)…YUMMMMM!!!!!

  2. Marilyn

    Oh, my goodness! This looks wonderful.
    You asked about the little chalkboards. I bought the plaques at $tree and painted them and changed out the ribbon. Very easy. I used brush on chalkboard paint, but there is a spray. Love your blog.

  3. Oh boy does that look good! I think I’d like it with rum 🙂 I will give this one a try. Thanks for sharing.

    How is the weather your way? We are expecting more snow tomorrow. I am actually hoping for a snow day. I have some things that I would love to do before the weekend.

    take care,
    Dawn

    • Hi Dawn
      I would love a snow day too! We are supposed to get up to 10 cm tomorrow which I guess is less than 5″. I doubt we’ll be closed. It is supposed to continue through the rest of the week wilth some snow but haven’t heard anything about a real storm. I do have a couple weeks of vacation left unscheduled so I am thinking I may start to take some days here and there.
      I feel like I could use a break! Its been nice not having any real new snow and its so cold everything just sits pretty…and white. I hope if you do get snow that your driving will be alright….and you need to get up that hill at home too.
      Have a nice day…
      Judi
      p.s. Marc is lucky he’s in Florida for this week and next working….wish I could have gone too.

  4. Oh Judi this looks fabulous–my husband especially loves anything chocolate!

  5. It sure looks delicious! I wish that you could shove a piece through this screen.

    • Hi Sally
      Had I made it last week I could have had Marc drop some off for you. On Thursday he attended a 40 minute meeting in Miami! Can you imagine? He was up at 4:30 a.m. and back in bed at 1:00 a.m. Friday morning having attended a meeting there from 2:10 to 2:50. Crazy….and I did think of you!

  6. Boy oh Boy! Does that look good…I am going to have to try this!

  7. Judi, you temptress! This looks sinful! And oh so delicious! I must try it!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  8. Bo

    This cake does look decadent…just my kind! Thanks for sharing the recipe… 😉 Bo

  9. That looks sooooo good, Judi and sounds delish, too!!

  10. Hello and thank you so much for dropping by! I love it when someone new and wonderful visit! The cake looks absolutely delicious, and chocolate too! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe with us! I sure hope you drop in for another visit soon. You enjoy a lovely rest of the week!

    Smiles…

    Beverly

  11. Oh my gosh. That looks so good! I love chocolate. I will be trying your recipe in the near future. Thank you :>)

  12. Looks wonderful!
    LuLu

  13. Judi, The cake sounds divine! This would be a great cake for a special occasion, like Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…etc… 😉 Love it! Thanks for the share! ~CC

  14. omg, this must taste like heaven. got to try one..

Leave a Reply

